Plumpton Place
In Progress


Situated on a small island surrounded by a spring fed moat swimming with carp, the Manor House called Plumpton Place was built in 1568 on the site of an earlier house mentioned in the Domesday Book. The Grade II House was later renovated and extended by Sir Edwin Lutyens for then owner Edwards Hudson, founder of Country Life magazine, with work on the grounds by Gertrude Jekyll. The House has been sensitively restored with natural materials reflecting the surrounding landscape. The Studio is working closely with the Owner to create a unique series of living and performance spaces in collaboration with a group of local Artists and craftspeople.